ADCC Library of Business Resources including hyper link for in-depth information

Agoa Treaty

The African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) was signed into law by President Bill Clinton on May 18, 2000 as Title 1 of The Trade and Development Act of 2000. The law offers tangible incentives for African countries to continue their efforts to open their economies and build free markets.

African Business Roundtable (ABR)

was set up by the African Development Bank Group (ADB) in 1990. The ABR is Africa's foremost and continent-wide association of businesses and business leaders. It is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit private sector funded organization...

African Development Bank (AfDB)

Group is to spur sustainable economic development and social progress in its regional member countries (RMCs), thus contributing to poverty reduction. The Bank Group achieves this objective by mobilizing and allocating resources for investment in RMCs; and providing policy advice and technical assistance to support development efforts.

Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (UN)

Established in 1958 as one of the UN's five regional commissions, ECA's mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member States, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development.

African Union (AU)

Is a continental union consisting of 55 member states located on the continent of Africa, with exception of various territories of European possessions located in Africa. The AU was announced in the Sirte Declaration in Sirte, Libya on 9 September 1999, calling for the establishment of the African Union.


Was established in Abuja, Nigeria in October 1993 by African Governments, African private and institutional investors as well as non-African financial institutions and private investors for the purpose of financing, promoting and expanding intra-African and extra-African trade.

Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)

Arabic: اتحاد المغرب العربي‎ Ittiḥād al-Maghrib al-‘Arabī) is a trade agreement aiming for economic and future political unity among Arab countries of the Maghreb in North Africa. Its members are the nations of Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia. The Union has been unable to achieve tangible progress on its goals due to deep economic and political disagreements...

Eastern and Southern African Trade and Development Bank (TDB)

Established in 1985, formerly the PTA Bank, is a multilateral, treaty-based development financial institution, with assets of over US$ 5.6 billion. The Bank's mandate is to finance and foster trade, regional economic integration and sustainable development...

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Established on May 28 1975 via the treaty of Lagos, ECOWAS is a 15-member regional group with a mandate of promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the constituting countries. Member countries making up ECOWAS are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d' Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea...

ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID)

Is the financial arm of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) comprising fifteen (15) Member States namely, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde,Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. EBID emerged as a banking group...

World Sustainable Development Goals Organization

End poverty in all its forms everywhere, end hunger. Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas, and marine resources for sustainable development. Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls. Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable.

Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Mission Statement is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper co-operation and integration, good governance, and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective...

East African Community (EAC)

is a regional intergovernmental organization of 6 Partner States: the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The EAC is home to 172 million citizens, of which over 22% is urban population.

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

Is a free trade area with twenty-one member states stretching from Tunisia to Eswatini. COMESA was formed in December 1994, replacing a Preferential Trade Area which had existed since 1981. Nine of the member states formed a free trade area in 2000 (Djibouti, Egypt, Kenya...

ACCION International

ACCION International is a global, nonprofit micro-lender dedicated to creating economic opportunity by connecting people to the financial tools they need to improve their lives. The organization also provides management, research and development, and strategic leadership services.


A partnership between American Express OPEN, the SBA, and Women Impacting Public Policy, ChallengeHER is an event providing women business owners with the opportunity to make valuable connections with government agencies and experts, as well as to learn how to grow their businesses through federal contracting.

Women's Business Centers

Women's Business Centers represents a network of more than 100 educational centers designed to assist women in starting and growing small businesses. Through the management and technical assistance provided by the WBCs, entrepreneurs receive comprehensive training and counseling on a variety of topics.

Pipeline Angels

Pipeline Angels trains women to become angel investors through education, mentoring, and practice. The network also allows women entrepreneurs across the nation to present at one of its Pitch Summits, for a chance to secure capital for their businesses.

Join the Movement Become an ADCC "I AM CONNECTED" member!